Our People


Staff | Kaimahi



Tim Kendrew

Kaiwhakahaere Matua

Ko Tāwhitirahi tōku maunga, ko Te Awapoka tōku awa, ko Parengarenga tōku moana, ko Te Kao tōku kāinga. Ko Te Aupōuri tōku iwi, ko Te Whanau Pani tōku hapū, ko Wiki tōku whānau.

Tim (he/him) grew up in Palmy, and has over a decade's experience in community development roles, initially with a focus on young adults.

Tim has been part of the Te Pū Harakeke team since 2019, first working as Programme Coordinator, and has been Manager since early 2022.

Tim has a Bachelor of Arts in History and Māori Studies from Te Herenga Waka Victoria University of Wellington.

This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. | 06 354 3809

Justin Ngai

Kairuruku Kaupapa
Programme Coordinator

Justin (he/him) has been volunteering in the community arts sector since 2017, where he gained experience in governance, event coordination, and public speaking. He has been on the boards of the Creative Communities Scheme (Palmerston North), Manawatū People's Radio, and The Comedy Hub.

Justin has worked with the Manawatū Multicultural Council and used to volunteer as an English tutor in English Language Partners. He graduated from Victoria University of Wellington with a Master of Arts (Philosophy) in 2014.

Justin oversees our capability and capacity building programmes, and with his range of different experiences, aims to help the sector with whatever’s in his toolbox.

This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. | 06 354 3502




Board | Poari

The Board of Te Pū Harakeke is responsible for the governance of the organisation and is elected by our Member Groups, and consists of individuals with experience across the community sector in the Manawatū.

2023-24 Board Members:
(Back) Jon Spencer, Kim Penny (Chair), Cam Jenkins (Treasurer)
(Front) Cat Rikihana, Helen King, Kate Aplin, Lynne Clough.